Of Pastas and Introductions

So, this is my first post as a blogger, and I apologize (but not too profusely) for the obvious suckishness of things done the first time around.

Well, awkward bumblingness aside, today I, Day Orrow (that be a pseudonym, peasants), made pasta that was liked by people other than herself. It was quite a simple and unelaborated affair: boil macaroni pasta with a pinch of salt and rosemary, sauté some garlic in olive oil and add seasonings, butter and pasta and voila! The most straightforward and yummy pasta ever made in this corner of the earth is ready. And for something with such a simple process and a creator so devoid of finesse in the kitchen, I was frankly surprised when three – yes, three – of my food-loving cousins adored it. It’s quite unfortunate I didn’t make more, but I didn’t anticipate such a positive reaction. 

In truth, I am an average cook, meaning I can just about make pasta, instant coffee, tea and cakes and cookies, and a few other such insignificant things, but my family thinks my cooking is wonderful. I personally feel they say that out of the goodness of their hearts, given my limited experience in kitchens and my astounding laziness, but despite everything, my ventures into the kitchen usually end well.

Oh, and for the introductions. I believe I made it known earlier in this post that I go by the name Day Orrow, and as the title of my blog probably tells you, this is going to be about silliness, musings, posts made in free time and everything in between. Have fun browsing!

2 thoughts on “Of Pastas and Introductions

  1. Hey Day,
    Looks like you are getting good results with your cooking.
    Unlike you, I’m horrible in that department. I once tried to make noodles and I got slimy thingy that my friends pronounced “painsha” ( that’s Bengali for tasteless).
    Looking forward to your blogs.

    Puck.

    • Hey Puck,
      Haha, that’s pretty unfortunate! Luckily, my forays into the kitchen usually end well, and I believe I’ll be able to survive on more than fast food and burritos in college. 🙂 Do try to improve your cooking skills, though, being able to make your own food is a wonderful thing.
      ~Day

Leave a comment